Contra Costa County, California

Contra Costa County was officially formed on Feb. 18, 1850. Martinez was selected as the county seat in 1851. This was still a raw, wild frontier. There were probably less than 1000 persons living in the entire county in 1850. Early settlers in Martinez often complained about wild cattle stampeding through the dusty streets chased by hard riding vaqueros.
During the early years of the 1850s, the county was run alternately by a Court of Sessions and a Board of Supervisors. Three judges formed the Court of Sessions which combined both the legislative, judicial and executive into one body. The judge that headed the Court was elected by the people. The other two judges were elected by the other county justices of the peace.

We Install Solar Panels in These Cities of  Contra Costa County, California

• Antioch
• Brentwood
• Blackhawk
• Clayton
• Concord
• Danville
• El Cerrito
• Hercules
• Lafayette
• Martinez
• Moraga
• Montalvin Manor
• North Richmond
• Oakley
• Orinda
• Pinole
• Pittsburg
• Pleasant Hill
• Richmond
• San Pablo
• San Ramon
• Saranap
• Walnut Creek

Don't Want to Call Us?

Send Message

Send Us Message Instead
Tap to Call Now!